Make your own vegan or vegetarian burger patties

I’m vegetarian but I don’t eat those boxes of frozen “Veggie Burgers”. Or the “Vegetarian Chicken morsels”. Or McDonalds chips.

Since I am vegetarian for environmental reasons as opposed to animal rights reasons, substituting meat for processed, packaged, frozen patties makes little sense to me. Additionally, I am unconvinced of their nutritional value. I believe in eating good nutritious food that gives my body the goodness it needs so that I don’t crave packets of chips and chocolates and quick-fix nutrition that needs so much energy to process and package and market. ‘Eat better, eat less, share the world’s resources more fairly’ kinda thing.

With that said, I bring to you a veggie burger that I WILL eat! I have listed substitutions that you can make to cater for vegan/other preferences. You can also use this recipe to make “Meatballs” which are great for when I don’t want a burger on a roll (or for the gluten free guys).

Vegetarian Burgers (Vegetarian/Vegan)

  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • crushed garlic
  • 2 eggs (substitute with 2.5 tbsp ground flax seed mixed with 1/2 cup warm water)
  • 1 cup chickpea flour (or other flour)
  • 1.5 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1 cup grated carrot or butternut
  • 1 cup red kidney beans or sprouted lentils (or half and half)
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley (or other herb of your choice)
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/3 cup chopped pumpkin seeds
  • tbsp olive oil
  • tbsp soy sauce
  • chili as you like it
  • tsp cumin
  • tsp oreganum
  • salt and pepper

Toppings: Roasted tomatoes, guacamole

  1. Blend the beans/lentils, seeds, grated carrot and herbs together.
  2. Stir everything together in a bowl.
  3. Roll into balls. I don’t make these too big so that they have a nice consistency.
  4. Roll in bread crumbs.
  5. Put into a pan on low-medium heat and press flat with a fork.
  6. Cook slowly with the lid on and flip over once golden.

**Credit goes to Angela at http://www.ohsheglows.com for the inspiration

Leave a Reply

